100 years of VILSA – a history

The history of the VILSA spring does not actually begin in Vilsen, but more than 6,100 km away in New York. In 1908, after five years in the USA, the 31-year-old emigrant and engineer Johnny Dörgeloh decides to make a long-awaited trip back home to the old country to visit his family. Following his arrival in Vilsen after two weeks traveling by ship and train, he finds more than he bargained for: an effervescently pure spring that yields a mineral water previously untouched for thousands of years.

2000

Center stage for nature

VILSA Mineral Water, a delicious gift of nature.

The biggest challenge facing Johnny Dörgeloh in 1908 was to get the newly discovered spring and untamed flow of mineral water under control, to tame and to collect it. Today, more than 100 years later, our fight is not so much “with” nature as “for” nature. After all, our company owes its existence to nature.

1997

Changeover to PET

Plastic, for the sake of the environment.

With its lush meadows, extensive forests and pure springs, Bruchhausen-Vilsen officially becomes a climatic health resort in 1978. And in the midst of it all is Germany’s best and purest mineral water. VILSA is conscious of its great responsibility to nature and to keeping it unspoilt. So it is not surprising that the environment is a key factor in any business decision that VILSA-BRUNNEN makes. This also applies to the development of new products and processes. At VILSA, nature has the last word – and has had for over 100 years.

1979

Joining the GDB and mineral water boom

VILSA-BRUNNEN’s history is such that it is only in the mid-1970s that natural mineral water prevails over soda production. Up until then, soft drinks accounted for up to 80% of production at peak times. In 1979, VILSA becomes a member of the Genossenschaft Deutscher Brunnen (German Cooperative for Spring Water), GDB for short, and is permitted to introduce the standard mineral water bottle – also known in refreshing German officialese as a Brunneneinheitsflasche. By the way, such bottles can be identified by the characteristic 230 nubs on the glass.

1960

Vehicle fleet and low-flying aircraft

VILSA-BRUNNEN attracts new customers.

And goes deeper. During the 1960s, American and British pilots fly low over the Heiligenberg in their supersonic aircraft. The convulsions triggered by these thunderously loud exercises drive sand into the spring water near the ground. Otto Rodekohr subsequently has a hole drilled in order to withdraw the mineral water from the protected depths of the earth.

1950

Post-war era

The war comes to an end and VILSA is on the road to success.

In 1950, Otto Rodekohr returns from imprisonment to his beloved Vilsen. The long years of waiting are behind him. Time that he must have used to make plans for the future of his business: in the same year, Otto Rodekohr obtains a license to bottle the new fashionable drink, Sinalco.

1937

VILSA overcomes tough times

Europe at war, women in charge at VILSA.

Although work comes to a standstill at the site, the VILSA spring continues to flow unabated. In December 1937, Anna Rodekohr finally hands over control of the company to her son Otto. Together with his wife Margarethe Rodekohr, he quickly turns around the fortunes of the company. But when war breaks out in Europe a short time later, Otto Rodekohr receives his call-up notice. This leaves Margarethe in charge, so once again a woman is managing VILSA-BRUNNEN on her own.

1933

Global economic crisis

Fighting the global economic crisis with Apfelsinchen.

On October 24, 1929, Anna Rodekohr is only at the helm of VILSA-BRUNNEN for a year when Black Friday casts its shadow from New York over the tranquility of Vilsen. Yet Anna and her 17-year-old son Otto, Operations Manager from day one, bounce back and get to work: in 1930, Apfelsinchen (orange soda), the first popular soda, is launched. Unfortunately, it does not achieve the hoped-for success. Their application for surety is turned down in the same year. In 1933, they finally notify the Lord Mayor of the small town of Bruchhausen-Vilsen that the bottling plant will cease trading.

1928

VILSA-BRUNNEN sold to the Rodekohr family

Johnny goes, Anna Rodekohr arrives.

The deprivations of the First World War are followed by the Golden Twenties. Germans have plenty to eat. Art, culture, and science are flourishing. And VILSA Mineral Water and VILSA Soda are on everyone’s lips in and around Vilsen.

1913

Product range and distribution

Mineral water increases in popularity.

The watchword for the summer of 1913: VILSA-BRUNNEN and lemon fizz are a must in every house! This is how blunt and direct VILSA’s first newspaper ad sounds. And not entirely without cause: at this time, drinking water is frowned upon. Old domestic wells are frequently polluted by agricultural and domestic waste water. The newspapers make every effort to allude to the necessity of drinking enough water, for example to guard against heat stroke.

1912

Entered into the commercial register

Johnny Dörgeloh – from hotel owner to spring owner

The hotelier Johnny Dörgeloh knows better than anyone how to pay court to his resort guests who seek respite in the extensive forests and hills around Vilsen. However, he does not have the slightest idea how the millennia-old, untamed flow of crystal-clear water can be tamed and bottled. But Johnny Dörgeloh accepts the challenge of his great discovery: the first bottling plant is built three years later. On August 8, 1912 he officially registers his spring in the commercial register.

Über 100 Jahre VILSA – eine Historie

Die Geschichte der VILSA-Quelle beginnt nicht etwa in Vilsen sondern gut 6.100 km davon entfernt in New York: 1908 entschließt sich dort der 31-jährige Auswanderer und Ingenieur Jonny Dörgeloh nach fünf Jahren in den USA, seiner Familie in der alten Heimat einen lang ersehnten Besuch abzustatten. Doch als er nach zwei Wochen Reise mit Schiff und Zug in Vilsen ankommt, findet er hier mehr als er erwartet hatte: eine sprudelnd reine Quelle, die ein Mineralwasser zu Tage führt, dass seit Jahrtausenden unberührt ist.

2000

Die Natur im Mittelpunkt

VILSA Mineralwasser, ein großer Schluck Natur.

Die größte Herausforderung für Johnny Dörgeloh im Jahre 1908 bestand darin, der frisch entdeckten Quelle und dem wilden Strom reinen Mineralwassers Herr zu werden, es zu bändigen und aufzufangen. Heute, über 100 Jahre später, müssen wir zwar nicht mehr so sehr „mit“ der Natur kämpfen, wir kämpfen eher „um“ die Natur. Denn sie ist der Ursprung unserer Unternehmung.

1997

Umstellung auf PET

Plastik, der Umwelt zu Liebe.

Saftige Wiesen, weite Wälder, reine Quellen – 1978 wird Bruchhausen-Vilsen offiziell zum Luftkurort erhoben. Und mittendrin entspringt eines der besten und reinsten Mineralwasser Deutschlands: VILSA weiß um die große Verantwortung gegenüber einer intakten Natur. Und so verwundert es auch nicht, dass VILSA-BRUNNEN sämtliche wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen strikt der Ökologie unterordnet. Das gilt auch für die Entwicklung neuer Produkte und Verfahren. Die Natur hat bei VILSA das letzte Wort – seit über 100 Jahren.

1979

Eintritt bei der GDB und Mineralwasserboom

Die Geschichte des VILSA-BRUNNENS will es so, dass sich erst Mitte der 70er-Jahre das natürliche Mineralwasser gegen die Limonadenproduktion durchsetzen kann. Bis dahin nahmen Süßgetränke zu Spitzenzeiten bis zu 80 Prozent der Produktion ein. 1979 wird VILSA Mitglied bei der Genossenschaft Deutscher Brunnen, kurz GDB und darf die Normbrunnenflasche für Mineralwasser einführen – im erfrischenden Amtsdeutsch auch “Brunneneinheitsflasche” genannt. Der Verbraucher erkennt diese übrigens an den charakteristischen 230 Noppen auf dem Glas.

1960

Fuhrpark und Tiefflieger

VILSA-BRUNNEN gewinnt neue Kunden.

Und wird tiefer gelegt. Donnernd und zum Greifen nah schießen in den 60ern amerikanische und englische Piloten in ihren Überschallfliegern über den Heiligenberg. Die Erschütterungen, die diese Übungen auslösen, spülen Sand ins bodennahe Quellwasser. Otto Rodekohr veranlasst daraufhin eine Bohrung, um das Mineralwasser fortan aus den geschützten Tiefen zu entnehmen.

1950

Nachkriegszeit

Der Krieg geht zu Ende, der Erfolg für VILSA beginnt.

1950 kehrt Otto Rodekohr aus der Gefangenschaft in seine geliebte Vilsener Heimat zurück. Lange Jahre des Wartens liegen hinter ihm. Zeit, die er genutzt haben muss, um Pläne für die Zukunft seines Betriebs zu schmieden: Noch im selben Jahr erhält Otto Rodekohr die Konzession zur Abfüllung des neuen Modegetränks „Sinalco“.

1937

VILSA meistert schwere Zeiten

Europa im Krieg, VILSA in der Hand der Frauen.

Trotz Stillstand auf dem Werksgelände sprudelt die VILSA-Quelle ununterbrochen vor sich hin. Im Dezember 1937 überträgt Anna Rodekohr schließlich die Leitung des Unternehmens an Sohn Otto. Gemeinsam mit dessen Ehefrau Margarethe Rodekohr gelingt der rasche Aufschwung des Brunnens. Doch als wenig später der Krieg in Europa ausbricht, ereilt auch Otto Rodekohr der Einberufungsbefehl. So steht mit Margarethe erneut eine Frau alleine an der Spitze des VILSA-BRUNNENS.

1933

Weltwirtschaftskrise

Mit Apfelsinchen gegen die Weltwirtschaftskrise.

Anna Rodekohr steht erst ein Jahr an der Spitze des VILSA-BRUNNENS, als am 24. Oktober 1929 der Schwarze Freitag seinen Schatten von New York bis ins beschauliche Vilsen wirft. Doch Anna und ihr 17-jähriger Sohn Otto, vom ersten Tag an Betriebsleiter, lassen sich nicht unterkriegen und machen sich an die Arbeit: 1930 kommt mit „Apfelsinchen“ die erste Trendlimonade auf den Markt. Leider ohne den erwünschten Erfolg. Ihr Antrag auf Bürgschaft im gleichen Jahr wird abgelehnt. 1933 informieren sie schließlich den Bürgermeister des Flecken Bruchhausen-Vilsen über die Stilllegung des Abfüllbetriebs.

1928

Verkauf von VILSA-BRUNNEN an Familie Rodekohr

Johnny geht, Anna Rodekohr kommt.

Nach den Entbehrungen des ersten Weltkriegs brechen die Goldenen Zwanziger an. Die Mägen der Deutschen füllen sich. Kunst, Kultur und Wissenschaft erleben eine Blütezeit. Und VILSA Mineralwasser und VILSA Limonade sind in und um Vilsen in aller Munde.

1913

Produktsortiment und Auslieferung

Mineralwasser wird immer beliebter.

Die Parole des Sommers 1913: VILSA-BRUNNEN und Zitronen-Sprudel darf in keinem Hause fehlen! So unverblümt und direkt klingt die erste Zeitungsanzeige von VILSA. Nicht ganz ohne Grund: Wassertrinken war zu dieser Zeit bei den Menschen verpönt. Zu oft sind die alten Hausbrunnen durch landwirtschaftliche und häusliche Abwässer verunreinigt. Die Zeitungen geben sich zu dieser Zeit alle Mühe, um auf die Notwendigkeit der körperlichen Trinkwasserzufuhr hinzuweisen, zum Beispiel als Vorbeuge gegen den Hitzschlag.

1912

Eintragung ins Handelsregister

Johnny Dörgeloh – vom Hotelbesitzer zum Quellbesitzer

Wie kein anderer verstand es der Hotelier Johnny Dörgeloh, seine Kurgäste zu hofieren, die in den ausgedehnten Wäldern und Höhen rund um Vilsen nach Erholung suchten. Wie man einen Jahrtausende alten, wilden Strom kristallklaren Wassers bändigt und in Flaschen verpackt, davon hatte er jedoch nicht die leiseste Idee. Johnny Dörgeloh aber nahm die Herausforderung seiner großen Entdeckung an: Drei Jahre später stand das erste Abfüllgebäude. Am 8. August 1912 ließ er seine Quelle im Handelsregister offiziell eintragen.